Projection Art Photography

While I was writing a script I knew exactly what I want each scene to look like in my head. I wanted to play with different kind of themes and topics around my drama, one of them is symbolism. I decided to use this kind of artistic approach to reveal the pregnancy loss. I decided to look more into the idea of visualising the dreams.

From the technical point of view, I decided to use a projector. I have research a lot of photographers and type of studio photography that used projector to create almost double exposure look.

I started with looking into Projection Art Photography. I read an article  about this topic that lead me to the first inspiration – a black and white photographer John French that as one of the first ones used projectors in his work. It was definitely studio/portrait/fashion photography but to start from it was perfect to see the roots of this type of collaboration between art and technology.

John French, 1960s

Another more modern photographer I researched was a Eva Mueller and Dennis Auburn. Both of the photographers used projectonist in more contemporary way of expressing a new style of individualism of fashion photography, that shaped the idea in my head – artistically and technically of the dream sequence I came up with for my short piece.

Eve Mueller, 2011

Dennis Auburn, 2015

Leave a comment